HOT FALL TITLES

fall-reads

FICTION

The Nix by Nathan Hill – pub. date, August 30, 2016

the-nix

[A] sparkling, sweeping debut novel that takes place in a large swath of recent American history, and pop culture and turns them on their sides…-Kirkus (Starred Review)

 This big (640 page) novel tells the story of apathetic college professor and failed writer, Samuel Anderson, whose mother had abandoned him when he was a boy. Samuel gets another chance at literary fame but, in order to achieve it, he must reconnect with his mother; a risky proposition which could stir up an old wound and uncover new ones.

 

Here I Am by Jonathan Safran Foer – pub. date, September 6, 2016

here-i-am

Richly conceived… Rigorous questions within an accessible story; highly recommended.  ―Library Journal (starred review)

Unfolding over four tumultuous weeks, in present-day Washington, D.C., Here I Am is the story of a fracturing family in a moment of crisis.As Jacob and Julia and their three sons are forced to confront the distances between the lives they think they want and the lives they are living, a catastrophic earthquake sets in motion a quickly escalating conflict in the Middle East. At stake is the very meaning of home–and the fundamental question of how much life one can bear.

 

Leave Me by Gale Forman –pub. date, September 6, 2016

leave-me

A #1 September Library Reads Selection

A September Indie Next Pick

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

A People Pick

We’ve all fantasized, at one time or another about escaping, running away from our harried, stressful lives. Maribeth Klein, the lead character in Leave Me, does just that.A married, working mother with two 4-year-old twins, she pack her bags and leaves. It is only when she is distanced from her live that Maribeth begins to view it from a different perspective. Leave Me is a story about facing our fears as well as the ambivalent feelings, we sometimes have about motherhood.

 

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles – pub. date, September 6, 2016

moscow

In all ways a great novel, a nonstop pleasure brimming with charm, personal wisdom, and philosophic insight…this book more than fulfills thepromise of Towles’ stylish debut, Rules of CivilityKirkus (Starred Review

A Gentleman in Moscow immerses us in an elegantly drawn era with the story of Count Alexander Rostov. When, in 1922, he is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, the count is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors.

 

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett – pub. date, September 13, 2016

commonwealth

The prose is lean and inviting, but the constant shifts in point of view, the peripatetic chronology and the ever growing cast of characters will keep you on your toes. A satisfying meat-and-potatoes domestic novel from one of our finest writers–Kirkus

One Sunday afternoon in Southern California, Bert Cousins shows up at Franny Keating’s christening party uninvited. Before evening falls, he has kissed Franny’s mother, Beverly, thus setting in motion the dissolution of their marriages and the joining of two families.

 

Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman – pub. date, October 18, 2016

edith

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat “she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it”- Amazon

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance, a house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: the deceased’s 82 –year-old mother, Edith, who’s been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.

 

NONFICTION

A Square Meal: A Culinary History of the Great Depression by Jane Ziegelman – pub. date, August 16, 2016

square-meal

An engaging social history… The vivid recreation of American eating at a historical crossroads is engrossing.” -Publishers Weekly

From the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced—the Great Depression—and how it transformed America’s culinary culture.

Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen – pub. date, September 27, 2016

born-to-run

In Born to Run, Springsteen describes growing up in Freehold, New Jersey amid the “poetry, danger, and darkness” that fueled his imagination. He vividly recounts his relentless drive to become a musician, his early days as a bar band king in Asbury Park, and the rise of the E Street Band. With disarming candor, he also tells for the first time the story of the personal struggles that inspired his best work, and shows us why the song “Born to Run” reveals more than we previously realized

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements