Lion or A Long Way Home

If you haven’t seen the recent movie Lion or read the wonderful biography A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierly, on which the movie is based, you need to do one or the other, sooner rather than later.  I recently listened to the MP3 audiobook version of the book, read fabulously well by Vikas Adam (don’t ask me how he has both the Aussie and the Indian accent down having been born in Vancouver, Canada!).  I loved every minute of it.  I also watched the movie, albeit vicariously through someone else (without sound on the tiny media screen of an airline passenger sitting in the seat in front of me) and was, inexplicably to everyone seated around me, sobbing tears of joy by the end.

In case you have been living entirely off the grid in some inaccessible part of the world for the last two years, the basic premise of the story details the incredible journey of a small boy, living in a remote area of India, who, through a strange set of circumstances is completely separated from his family in 1986 at the tender age of five.  After a harrowing month of surviving on the streets of Calcutta his life begins to stabilize and he spends the next 25 years trying to locate his family.

Put this book, audiobook, or movie on you list of must read/listen to/watch.  You won’t be sorry you did!  (Should you decide to watch the movie, my advice is to do it in the comfort of your own home with sound!)

Author: Karen Proft

I have worked at NCPL since 2013 but libraries have always been my passion. When I'm not reading I enjoy traveling, hiking, gardening and spending time with family. Please support your local public library and read to your children!

Leave a Reply

