National Biographer’s day!

It’s national biographer’s day on May 16th! Here are some new biographies to celebrate.

1.”In 1964, Kathy McKeon was just nineteen years old and newly arrived from Ireland when she was hired as the personal assistant to former first lady Jackie Kennedy. The next thirteen years of her life were spent in Jackie’s service…” (from Amazon summary)  Soon to be available in the library!

Jackie's girl

2. The author, Stephanie Saldana, explains, “This is the actual story of the seven years I spent living in a neighborhood just outside the walls of the old city of Jerusalem.” Geraldine Brooks, Julia Alvarez, and Palestinian-American poet Naomi Shihab Nye have all praised this gentle, truthful memoir of life, love, and family.

Country Between

3. “To coincide with the bicentennial of Thoreau’s birth, this thrilling, meticulous biography…fills a gap in our understanding of one of modern history’s most important spiritual visionaries…” (from the jacket flap)

Thoreau

4. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen—perfect for fans of The Crown.

Prince charles

5. This definitive biography reveals the complicated inner life of the founding father of the Protestant Reformation, whose intellectual assault on Catholicism ushered in a century of upheaval that transformed Christianity and changed the course of world history. (From the jacket)

Martin Luther

These are only a few of the new biographies on our shelves, and we’ve got lots of older memoirs, too. If you’re looking to explore real lives, the library’s a great place to start!

Advertisements

Author: maryj59

A librarian and writer from New England.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s